Omelets for dummies

Image

Eggs are known as one of those bachelor/student foods that even people who don’t really cook can make, without incident, right? But for a long time I was not good at consistently making beautifully folded omelets. One side would scorch while the other was runny, or the filling would fall out … goofs that ended in a tasty mess, edible but not very photogenic.  But I’ve gotten my omelet routine down to a science now. My husband (Paleo Boy) is back on the wagon after a very un-Paleo, unhealthy end to the spring semester (I was off the wagon with him and am still falling off the back sometimes even now!). I made a spinach and prosciutto omelet for him a couple nights ago when he wanted a not-too-big, quick dinner. As I made the omelet I realized I had zero anxiety about runny eggs, spillage, and other mishaps. So I thought I’d share the creation process.

-I turned an 8″ frying pan on medium heat with a spray of olive oil, and when it was hot, tossed in about a quarter of a yellow onion, finely chopped. I added fresh ground pepper and a pinch of oregano.

-When the onions were cooked to translucent I added a big handful of baby spinach and allowed it to wilt down, stirring occasionally with the onions. I whipped two whole, free range, organic eggs together in a small bowl with a pinch of salt and another dash of black pepper while the spinach cooked.

-I tossed in two thin sheets of prosciutto, sliced into small pieces, and allowed them to simmer with the spinach and onions for a couple minutes. Prosciutto is already cooked, but this allowed the spinach to absorb the flavor of the meat and added a fine layer of fat from the prosciutto to the frying pan.

-Then I removed the cooked spinach, prosciutto and onion from the pan, set them aside on the corner of the cutting board, and turned the pan to medium low heat (about 4.5 out of 10). I added one more squirt of olive oil to the empty pan to make sure it was ready for the eggs.

-I poured the eggs into the frying pan and allowed them to cook without disturbance on low heat until the bottom was solid and the top almost so. Then I added the spinach/prosciutto mix to one side of the eggs and folded the other side over on top of the filling, pressing it down to form my omelet using a big spatula. One side of the omelet always seems to cook marginally faster than the other on my stove, so this works well.

-I flipped the now-formed omelet over in the pan one time and cooked it a bit longer to make sure all of the egg mix was well cooked, then plopped it onto a plate. Done!

In summary:
-Cook the filling first and add it back in later
-Use medium-low heat so the eggs can cook through without scorching.

This post probably gives away just how clumsy I am in the kitchen. I see master chefs at fancy brunch buffets whipping up omelets at scorching heat, tossing the ingredients and flipping the omelet right there in the pan with a flick of the wrist. White puffy hats off to them!

 

Leave a Reply

